BROOKS TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING APRIL 10, 2023 @ 7:00 PM APPROVED

Members Present: Mark Guzniczak, Pat Baker, Phil Knape, Chris Wren, Mark Pitzer, Karl

Frederiksen, Ryan Schultz

Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Joe Selzer

Chairman Guzniczak, called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. This meeting was properly posted and a quorum of the Brooks Township Planning Commission was present.

Approval of Agenda:

Moved by Wren, **seconded** by Frederiksen to approve the agenda as written. **Unanimously Approved**

Election of Officers:

Moved by Baker, **seconded** by Pitzer to re-appoint the existing slate of officers. Chairman – Mark Guzniczak, Vice Chairman – Phil Knape, Secretary – Pat Baker **Unanimously Approved**

Approval of Minutes:

Moved by Wren, **seconded** by Frederiksen to approve the minutes of the February 13th, meeting as written. **Unanimously Approved**

Public Comment: None

Correspondence: None

Reserved Time - None

Unfinished Business: None

New Business:

Tanya DeOliveira, discussed best practices for renewable energy systems, and provided a guide from MSU Extension for Michigan local governments regarding planning and zoning for solar energy systems. The township wants to be proactive and current with this issue. In working toward that goal, Tanya will provide samples to review and assist in drafting ordinance language. The process will take approximately six months to completion.

| Staff Update: Zoning Report for February and March were submitted. Joe Selzer noted that he |
|--|
| anticipates an upcoming special land use request for a new residence in the commercial district. |
| |

Public Comment: None

Planning Commission Members Comments: There was discussion regarding the poor condition of commercial property on the southeast corner of M-37 and M-82. Jerry Tuin, assistant zoning specialist, is working on this issue.

Adjournment: Moved by Baker, **seconded** by Knape, to adjourn the meeting at 7:49 PM. **Unanimously Approved.**

| Respectfully Submitted, | | |
|-------------------------------|---------------------|--|
| Det Delen | D: C.1 | |
| Pat Baker | Dianna Schaafsma | |
| Planning Commission Secretary | Recording Secretary | |